A Novel

Book - 1960
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Clea is the fourth book of Lawrence Durrell's tetralogy, The Alexandria Quartet, whose first three parts include Justine, Balthazar, and Mountolive. Clea adds to the quartet a temporal dimension. The love story it tells parallels the process of artistic creation; it concludes like a symphony, announcing the eternal awakening of the heraldic universe, in which the reader also participates. As Pursewarden states, the reader is the poet; we are all poets: the statue must come away from the awkward marble block that shelters it and begin to live.
Publisher: London : Faber and Faber, c1960
ISBN: 9780571058419
Characteristics: 287 p.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Apr 04, 2018

India-born British novelist Lawrence "Larry" Durrell is famous for "The Alexandria Quartet," which he published between 1957 and 1960. It was listed as one of the best novels of the 20th century by the Modern Library, but, well, I just couldn't get into. It has the kind of bland modernist style that seems experimental (shifting points of view, radical subjectivity, no clear narrative) but is really just kinda exhausting. Yeah, he writes well, but I had no interest in the characters or anything that was happening. In fact, I'm not even sure what was happening. Something about love and Alexandria. Fun fact: Durrell was buddies with Henry Miller. Fave line: "Foreskins will fall like snow tonight."

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at OPL

To Top