Selected Poems 1983-2020

Selected Poems 1983-2020

Book - 2021
Rate this:
"This collection of new and previously published poems by Steven Heighton, author of the Governor General's Literary Award winner The Waking Comes Late, showcases a defining lyricist of his generation. Selected Poems 1983-2020 is Steven Heighton's seventh volume of poetry and the first since his Governor General's Literary Award-winning collection, The Waking Comes Late. Incorporating a grouping of previously unpublished poetry and a selection of key poems from his six previous acclaimed collections, this timely volume showcases a generational talent whose work has been described by critics as "exhilarating, " "genuine, " and "arrestingly beautiful." Heighton's debut collection, Stalin's Carnival, won the Gerald Lampert Award for Best First Book of Poetry in 1990. Subsequent books, which include bestselling novels, essays, and critical writings, confirmed Heighton as an exciting and important voice in Canadian letters. Heighton's poetry is recognised for its technical skill, musicality, its erudition, and its empathy and unvarnished emotion."-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: Toronto : Anansi, 2021.
ISBN: 9781487007379
Characteristics: xiii, 209 pages ; 21 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at OPL

To Top