Watching You

Watching You

A Novel

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
23
1
“Quickly and assuredly, Jewell builds an ecosystem of countervailing suspicions…Tricky, clever, unexpected.” —New York Times Book Review “Brace yourself as Jewell stacks up the secrets, then lights a long, slow fuse.” —People “A seize-you-by-the-throat thriller and a genuinely moving family drama.” —A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect “for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive” (Library Journal). Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It’s not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you. As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all—including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom’s teenaged son Freddie—a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5—excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father. One of Tom’s students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she’s not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna’s mother—whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years—is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her. Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam… In Lisa Jewell’s latest brilliant “bone-chilling suspense” (People) no one is who they seem—and everyone is hiding something. Who has been murdered—and who would have wanted one of their neighbors dead? As “Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace” (Booklist, starred review), you will be kept guessing until the startling revelation on the very last page.
Publisher: [S.l.]: Atria Books, 2018.
ISBN: 9781501190094
Characteristics: 336 p.
Additional Contributors: cloudLibrary

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
Jlaurie23
Mar 06, 2021

I love her books. This was a good read, but I preferred some of her other books better. Still enjoyed it and at certain parts kept me turning the page and wanting more. Overall I would recommend.

WPL_Erin Mar 04, 2021

I’m usually a big fan of Jewel’s work but this one fell flat for me. All of the characters were so unlikable and the story really didn’t have much pull to it. It wasn’t bad, but it was really easy to put down and forget about.

loonylovesgood Feb 11, 2021

I read this a while ago and must have forgotten to add it to my shelves. This is one of the more darker Lisa Jewell books. The ending of this one really did creep me out.

a
AnnSkye
Jan 28, 2021

An interesting read but I think the author really got carried away trying to explain everything in the last chapter.

j
JLee237
Dec 27, 2020

If you like the novels Girl on a Train and Sharp Objects, then you will like this one. It is an entertaining thriller but plot is not unique and Desperate Housewives-ish.

k
KathyAG
Dec 01, 2020

The farther I read into the book the more I liked it. It is worth finishing just to understand the epilogue. I was stunned by the epilogue.

r
Rita_Maria
Sep 18, 2020

I've read about 4 Lisa Jewell novels and found only this one to be disappointing. It was very contrived and repetitive and quite dull. Even the twist was just meh...

r
ralwal
Sep 17, 2020

It was ok. I felt for a small village there were just too many weird characters.

b
betsy777
Mar 31, 2020

I listened to this on Libby. The narrator was great and the story was well paced and well acted. Lisa Jewell provided a great story with convincing characters and also interwove intelligent portrayals of marriages, child development, and the danger of making assumptions. All that, plus she managed a surprise ending. I'll definitely be reading more books by this author.

p
PiepieB
Mar 17, 2020

The more I read this book, the more I got into it and really liked it. It proves once again that Lisa Jewell is a master at her craft. Do NOT hesitate in picking up one of her thrillers. I love how everything comes together at the end!

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top