Evvie Drake Starts Over

Evvie Drake Starts Over

A Novel

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
From the host of NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast comes a heartfelt debut about the unlikely relationship between a young woman who’s lost her husband and a major league pitcher who’s lost his game. “A quirky, sweet, and splendid story of a woman coming into her own.”—Taylor Jenkins Reid,  New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six In a sleepy seaside town in Maine, recently widowed Eveleth “Evvie” Drake rarely leaves her large, painfully empty house nearly a year after her husband’s death in a car crash. Everyone in town, even her best friend, Andy, thinks grief keeps her locked inside, and Evvie doesn’t correct them. Meanwhile, in New York City, Dean Tenney, former Major League pitcher and Andy’s childhood best friend, is wrestling with what miserable athletes living out their worst nightmares call the “yips”: he can’t throw straight anymore, and, even worse, he can’t figure out why. As the media storm heats up, an invitation from Andy to stay in Maine seems like the perfect chance to hit the reset button on Dean’s future. When he moves into an apartment at the back of Evvie’s house, the two make a deal: Dean won’t ask about Evvie’s late husband, and Evvie won’t ask about Dean’s baseball career. Rules, though, have a funny way of being broken—and what starts as an unexpected friendship soon turns into something more. To move forward, Evvie and Dean will have to reckon with their pasts—the friendships they’ve damaged, the secrets they’ve kept—but in life, as in baseball, there’s always a chance—up until the last out. A joyful, hilarious, and hope-filled debut, Evvie Drake Starts Over will have you cheering for the two most unlikely comebacks of the year—and will leave you wanting more from Linda Holmes. Advance praise for Evvie Drake Starts Over “Charming, hopeful, and gently romantic . . . Evvie Drake is great company.”—Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eleanor & Park “Holmes writes with an easy warmth about kind people who are trying their best but messing things up anyway. . . . A warm and lovely romance, perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell and Louise Miller.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Publisher: [S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group, 2019.
ISBN: 9780525619253
Characteristics: 304 p.
Additional Contributors: cloudLibrary

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
springclouds
Jul 16, 2019

Really not quirky nor relatable. The writer just tries too hard. And the tv references are jarring--reminding me of her day job.

vm510 Jul 16, 2019

A breezy and endearing romance. The characters are definitely easy to root for. Maybe I felt some of the conflict was a little hard to buy, but mostly, I liked how down-to-earth this story was.

DCLadults Jun 25, 2019

A New & Noteworthy pick. Here’s a quirky debut set in Maine for your summer reading pleasure. Evvie is newly widowed with a secret. Dean is a former pitcher for the Yankees who lost his pitch. When they get together, can they make it work? It's pitch-perfect!

d
darladoodles
Jun 13, 2019

Love the cover. It truly captures the spirit of this new summer title. Evvie has secrets even her very best friend Andy does not know. She is widowed early in the narrative and has an apartment space available in her house. Enter Dean, a former MLB pitcher with the "yips." They are both broken. Can they fix each other? Baseball metaphors abound and I enjoyed reading their story. Will be a popular choice for the beach and vacation reading.

Chapel_Hill_MarthaW Apr 18, 2019

I was fairly certain I would love Linda Holmes' debut novel, since I love her pop culture writing so much, and it was such a relief to be right. So many things featured in this book are things that I am incredibly fond of -- Maine! Baseball! Love stories! -- and she brought them all together in a really wonderful way. I found Evvie's personal growth over the course of a year to be both convincing and really moving. My only quibble -- and it's a minor one, but I have to mention it! -- is that both main characters are supposed to be in their early thirties, not thaaaat much older than I am, but they read older to me. This is a minor complaint, though, because this is a really delightful book that will make a great summertime read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top