The BFG

The BFG

eBook - 2007
Average Rating:
Rate this:
53
24
3
 …
Roald Dahl's beloved novel hits the big screen in July 2016 in a major motion picture adaptation directed by Steven Spielberg from Amblin Entertainment and Walt Disney Pictures. When Sophie is snatched from her orphanage bed by the BFG (Big Friendly Giant), she fears she will be eaten. But instead the two join forces to vanquish the nine other far less gentle giants who threaten to consume earth’s children. This beautiful hardcover gift edition of Dahl's classic features the original illustrations by Quentin Blake, as well as a silk ribbon marker, acid-free paper, gilt stamping on a full-cloth cover,  decorative endpapers, and a sewn binding. From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: [S.l.]: Penguin Young Readers Group, 2007.
ISBN: 9781101662984
Characteristics: 208 p.
Additional Contributors: Blake, Quentin - Illustrator
3M Company

Opinion

From Library Staff

Sophie discovers that giants not only exist, but that there are a great many of them who like to guzzle and swallomp nice little chiddlers. But not the Big Friendly Giant. He and Sophie cook up an ingenious plot to free the world of troggle-humping -- forever


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
e
Ebstar
Feb 21, 2021

Read the book before the movie! It's good, a perfect choice for people that are in single digits. Roald Dahl's books are worth the attention. You like Roald Dahl? This book might just be for you.

r
RadhikaSingla
Feb 18, 2021

For once the movie is better than the book.

r
red_beetle_312
Jan 17, 2021

the new sort of language is pretty funny and also i am amazed by the illustrations even though i have seen Quieten Blake's work many times before

m
minimeatball
Jun 22, 2020

I’m still reading it but for now I think it’s pretty good.

d
Dserrano_0
Jun 18, 2020

Nice. I thought it will be boring. The new language used is splendid.

t
TRAPEEZE
Feb 10, 2020

My very first book by Roald Dahl, definitely one of my favourites.

c
cbursiek
Nov 01, 2019

Level U

g
Greenapple123
Jul 17, 2019

This is a very interesting and cool book and funny too!

d
DominiqueRossier
Dec 04, 2018

I've read it to the kids and we all enjoyed it. As good as more than a quarter of a century ago when I first read it!

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jan 25, 2018

The BFG by Roald Dahl is such a nice novel. I was first introduced to Roald Dahl by my sister, and I am so grateful for that because he was a major part of my childhood! The BFG was great - even though it is for children, I enjoy reading it when I am bored because it is such a sweet novel. For example, I really liked the book because it truly emphasizes the idea that people should not judge something based off of its looks. For example - who would expect a giant to be friendly? The adventure that Sophie and the BFG embark on is so fun to read, and I would read this book a hundred times if I had the time! You should definitely read this novel if you are looking for a quick and happy read. Rating: 4/5. @Montgomery of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

The BFG defied all expectations I had. It is a whimsical story about a young, orphan girl, Sophie, who meets the BFG during the witching hour. Although Sophie is initially scared, she makes a friend with the BFG who turns out to be kind and caring, unlike the other giants. The other giants eat people at night while everyone is asleep. They go to various parts of the world to gobble up people for their different flavours. We follow the BFG and Sophie as they devise a plan to stop the other giants from eating people that involves the Queen of England and nightmares. Although it is a children’s book, I would recommend this book for all ages. From the inventive words like “telly-telly bunkum box” to the imaginative storyline itself, The BFG was a joy to read. This book was “razztwizzler”! Rating: 5/5
@maroonmouse of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

The Big Friendly Giant was almost like my best friend in elementary school; I read this novel enough times to say we were much like close companions! I never got bored of this inventive, fun and intriguing book about a dream-catching giant and his fearsome brothers. At the witching hour, Sophie, a girl with insomnia looks out the window and sees a giant with a trumpet going from building to building to catch their dreams. Naturally, the sly giant can’t have any little girl tattling on his talent and grabs Sophie out of her room. Although initially Sophie is terrified, the BFG stays true to his name and the two become a duo to be reckoned with. There were so many meaningful messages in this story and I know some people are worried about the context, but it’s a children’s book for goodness sake! One of my favourite quotes deals with the BFG explaining that humans are the only animals that kill each other. The film adaptation lives up to expectations and is a great hit! Rating 4.5/5
@jewelreader of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
j
Jojocat11
Dec 24, 2020

Jojocat11 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

a
aksena
Apr 21, 2020

aksena thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 5 and 9

m
mauve_snipe_10
Nov 12, 2017

mauve_snipe_10 thinks this title is suitable for 2 years and over

r
readfox
Mar 22, 2016

readfox thinks this title is suitable for 5 years and over

p
piggy35
Aug 02, 2014

piggy35 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

s
SRPaws
Jul 22, 2014

SRPaws thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 5 and 99

v
violet_buzzard_30
Jul 08, 2014

violet_buzzard_30 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

orange_lion_1271 Jan 08, 2014

orange_lion_1271 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

orange_tiger_1456 Jul 25, 2013

orange_tiger_1456 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

blue_cat_951 Jun 20, 2013

blue_cat_951 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

View All Ages

Quotes

Add a Quote
l
lensslin
Feb 05, 2020

"My dear BFG, what a clever fellow you are. You are not very well eduacated but you are really nobody's fool, I can see that."
~ The Queen

e
e_south
Dec 12, 2016

“Two rights don't equal a left.”

Laura_X Jun 01, 2016

Don't gobblefunk around with words.

Summary

Add a Summary
m
maryamaa
Jul 20, 2014

HBDFJCGDHSFDNFBGJKSCGSDGXVSDDDHSDFVGSAHFDHSFCSDJHXSJSADGSDJGSGHFJSDHFKDRJYQ

d
dabestpokemonfan
Jul 23, 2012

go away!!!

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top